SAVE THE DATE! NAACP Honors Trailblazers in History

Media Release

For immediate release

SAVE THE DATE!  NAACP Honors Trailblazers in History

President Wesley Scully and Vice President Brient Thomas with 2018 Trailblazer Recipient, Detective Jillian Ashley

Michigan City, Indiana – President Wesley Scully and Vice President Brient Thomas of the LaPorte County NAACP have announced an event to honor five pioneers who have advanced the rights of all persons.

SAVE THE DATE! This upcoming event, the 2nd annual Trailblazers Freedom Fund and Scholarship Banquet will recognize the substantial efforts of Albertine Allen, Ivan Bodensteiner, Matt Garrett, Lynn Isbell, Pastor Stanley Mason, and two special honorees: Kim Kiner and Becky Williams.

The 2nd Annual Trailblazers Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, March 23, 2019 at Blue Chip Casino, 777 Blue Chip Drive, Michigan City from 6:00 PM to Midnight. This will be an exciting evening for everyone, not only for members, with cash bar, great food, socializing, music, and fun.

Featured speaker, Judge Shequitta Kelly-Joubert, Dallas, Texas, will discuss “Paving a New Pipeline,” followed by Jazz by Artie’s Trio Band, Spoken Word by Red Rah, singing by Carletha Barnes, and College Scholarship Awards. Tickets will be $50 per person. Table sponsorships are also available, with sponsor mention in all publications for the event. 

LaPorte County NAACP is an extension of the NAACP, the nation's oldest & largest civil rights organization. We fight for social justice for all. As members of this organization, young people (and adults) can become educated on voter registration, state laws and local laws while being active in the community.

We meet on the fourth Thursday of every Month from 6:30PM to 8PM at Ivy Tech Community College, 3714 Franklin Street, Michigan City Indiana 46360. We welcome new members.

To purchase tickets or to become an EVENT SPONSOR, or for discounted Blue Chip room reservations, please contact Floretha Kelly (219) 872-8779 or Wesley Scully (219) 878-2034.